2019 SSU Founder’s Day Awards nominations currently being accepted

From the Savannah State University Office of Alumni Relations

SAVANNAH, Ga. — Each year Savannah State University takes a day to recognize those who have served the school and made its foundation stronger while honoring the legacy of our founders. With two awards, the Richard R. Wright Award of Excellence and the Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award, the university celebrates the history of the institution and those who have contributed to its success.

This year Savannah State University will celebrate Founders Day on Thursday, November 14. This event is free and open to the public. The ceremony includes a guest speaker and the presentation of awards to members of the community.

To nominate individuals for these two awards contact the Savannah State University Office of Alumni Relations. The deadline for nominations is October 28.

The Richard R. Wright Award of Excellence honors corporate and community citizens, alumni, and outstanding leaders who have distinguished themselves through their expertise in social, educational and civic arenas.

The Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes outstanding alumni who have shown extraordinary support and loyalty to the Savannah State University, and who have become exemplary examples of the lofty ideals espoused by the university. The award also extols the achievements and contributions such distinguished alumni have made nationally, regionally and locally.

Established in 1890, Savannah State University is the oldest public historically black college or university in Georgia and the oldest institution of higher learning in the city of Savannah. The university’s 4,000 students select majors from 30 undergraduate and six graduate programs in four colleges ‐ Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Business Administration, Sciences and Technology, and Education.