SSUNAA Washington DC Chapter celebrates 60th Anniversary

LARGO, Md. — SSUNAA Washington DC Chapter President Zelmar Gordon presents a scholarship donation on behalf of the chapter to Dr. Cheryl Davenport Dozier, President of Savannah State University.

LARGO, Md. — Members of the Savannah State University National Alumni Association Washington, DC Chapter marked the chapter’s 60th anniversary with a celebration banquet on October 13.

During the event, the chapter honored James O. Thomas, Jr., Raymond Knight, and William N. Weston who were all original founders of the chapter in 1967 and Eloise Alston, an honorary chapter founder. The keynote speaker was Jimmie Jackson, a former national president of the SSUNAA and the Savannah State University Foundation. The chapter also presented a special scholarship presentation to Cheryl Davenport-Dozier, the 13th president of Savannah State University.

DC Chapter Installation Ceremony
WASHINGTON — Members of the SSUNAA Washington DC Chapter during the chapter’s installation of officers ceremony in 1957. Photo provided by W. Robinson from the SSUNAA Washington DC Chapter archives.

The SSUNAA Washington, DC Chapter was officially established on November 10, 1957 and was the first SSUNAA chapter organized outside of the state of Georgia. The chapter currently serves the Savannah State University community in Washington, DC, northern Virginia, and southern Maryland and participates in a variety of support, networking, athletic, and family-friendly events and activities throughout the year.

For additional information and to see photos from the event, visit the chapter’s website at

SSUNAA Charters the SSUNAA San Diego Chapter

SSUNAA San Diego Chapter chartering participants
SAN DIEGO — Participants in the March 31 SSUNAA San Diego Chapter chartering included Marcus Stallworth ’11, Lt. Gen. (Ret.) Walter Gaskin ’74, Sameca Globe ’07, Christana Johnson ’15, Rickey Hereford ’74 (Chapter Vice President), Chantel White ’15 (Chapter President), Clyde Newton (National President), Dian Burroughs ’90, Joseph Burroughs ’89, Judy Days-Dee (National Vice-President), and Tellis Fears ’01.

by John Lang
SSUNAA Midwestern Region Vice-President

SAN DIEGO — The Savannah State University National Alumni Association San Diego Chapter was officially chartered on March 31 at the Alpha Center in San Diego. Clyde Newton, the SSUNAA National President, administered the chartering of the chapter and installed the chapter’s new officers.

The chartering ceremony included remarks by Lt. Gen. Walter Gaskins, who urged those in attendances to support Savannah State University spiritually, physically and financially. In attendance at the chartering ceremony were the SSUNAA’s National Vice President, Dr. Judy Days-Dee, and the SSU Director of Alumni Relations, Barbara Myers. Members of the San Diego HBCU Alumni Association from Morehouse College, Spelman College, and Clark/Atlanta University were present along with other friends and family members of the charter members.

The installed chapter officers were the chapter president, Chantel White (’15) and the chapter vice-president, Rickey Hereford (’74). Other charter members are Joseph Burroughs II (’89), Dian Burroughs (’90), Torry Butler (’16), LaShawn Charles (’16), Tellis Fears (’01), Sameca Globe (’07), Jameila Grant (’16), Christana Johnson (’15), Shawn Smith (’16), and Marcus Stallworth (’11).

The SSUNAA San Diego Chapter is currently the only alumni chapter in the SSUNAA Western Region and west of the Mississippi River. For additional information about the SSUNAA San Diego Chapter or to join, contact Chantel White by email at