SSU set to hold Founders Day on Nov 14

Pictured: The Class of 1900
Front row, left to right: M. L. Whitmire, R.R. Wright (President), O. C. Suggs, (Vice President), E. W. Bisard Back row, left to right: J.W.G. Haigler, F.A. Fields (Class Vice President), E. W. Houstoun (Class President), S. A. Grant (Class Secretary), E. McIntosh (Class Treasurer), E. A. Overstreet
Photo Source: Savannah State University Archives, Asa H Gordon Library

SAVANNAH, Ga. — Savannah State University will celebrate Founders Day and present its legacy awards on Thursday, Nov. 14, beginning at 9:30 am, in the Savannah State University Student Union building. The event is free and open to the public.

The annual event is a commemoration of those who established the university as well as a celebration of SSU students, faculty, staff, alumni and supporters. This year’s speaker is Robert L. Stevenson, Ph.D., retired SSU professor of speech and theatre.

During the ceremony, SSU will present awards to:

Matthew Southall Brown Sr. – The Richard R. Wright Excellence Award
Gladys Lambert – Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award
Beatrice and Lemuel Campbell – Cyrus G. Wiley Distinguished Alumni Award

A link to the live stream and more information about the event is available at